Fast, Faster … broken

Back in this post I talked about my move to Be Unlimiteds ADSL2+ service, and how I was using my own router, a Linksys AG241 with some custom firmware, to obtain Annex M support (a facility where you can sacrifice some downstream bandwidth to obtain more upstream bandwidth).

For the last 3 weeks or so it’s all been working just fine, but when my wife and daughters came to see me the other day, they reported that “the internet wasn’t working”.

When they got home I talked my eldest daughter through some simple diagnostics, which showed that everything was working fine, apart from the AG241 router, which despite showing all the expected flickering lights on the front panel, was no longer live on the network.

A quick power-cycle has resolved the problem, and everything is now working properly again, but this leaves a question mark in my mind over the long term reliability of the custom firmware. Was this just a one off, perhaps caused by some sort of power brown-out, or was this the result of the AG241 running out of memory because of a memory leak somewhere? I guess time will tell, but in the meantime, I’m starting to look for a really good ADSL2+ router with extensive customisation features, and rock solid reliability.

Because I really don’t want to have to power-cycle my router every couple of weeks 😦

Leave a Reply

