Escape, the sequel

It appears that I’m finally (after 20 nights in hospital) going to be discharged today.

However, there is a continuing concern that my stoma output is still rather high, which could result in problems with hydration and with loss of electrolytes (specifically sodium and potassium) from my bloodstream. To mitigate these concerns they’re going to run one last blood test on me to check my current electrolyte levels before discharging me. That will hopefully take no more than 4 or 5 hours, which should allow me to be home in time for tea.

Once discharged it will be down to me to manage my own electrolyte and hydration levels; this seems to largely revolve around drinking a minimum of 2.5 litres of water per day, and bolstering my electrolyte levels by adding salt to my diet. I’m also advised to avoid any high fibre foods, and instead to adopt a “low residue” diet. Taken together this means my diet is likely to be completely counter to all the standard advice for a normal healthy diet.

Still, freedom appears to be no more than a few hours and a blood-test away. Hooray!

Update: I just had my bloods drawn at 10am

3 thoughts on “Escape, the sequel

Leave a Reply

