1 down, 7 to go …

About an hour ago I took the last set of chemotherapy tablets for my first chemotherapy cycle. I now have a weeks “rest” before we start the second cycle. This next week is primarily to let my body recover enough that it can survive the next cycle, but I have to admit that it’s going to be a relief not to have to face any more of those enormous capecitabine tablets for a while!

In other news, I seemed to finally hit my stride with regards to taking all the tablets; I’ve not missed anything out in a while, and I finally seem to have got on top of accurately recording what I’ve taken when. I have noticed that regularly taking the metaclopamide has resulted in my nausea being confined to the mornings, and that if I just go back to bed I can usually sleep right through that, and wake up again around lunchtime feeling much better and able to actually do things in the afternoon and evening.

My stamina hasn’t improved very much in the last couple of weeks though; if anything it feels like I may have slipped backwards. At the weekend I decided to prune some roses in the garden, and was surprised as how quickly I tired out to the point where I needed to sit down and rest. At the moment I’m hoping that that was just as a result of the cumulative effect of the chemotherapy drugs, as I don’t remember tiring out that quickly before I started taking them. Something else to mention to my oncologist when I see him next week prior to starting the next cycle.

My wound scar has also been giving me some pain this week, which is strange as so far it’s never really hurt very much. It’s well healed, but just aches annoyingly towards the evening. A closer examination shows that elements of the scar itself are actually fading to a pale white, rather than the more usual pink colour, so I suspect that this is just the next phase of the healing, but I’ll mention it when I meet with my consultant later in the week (Thursday).

I also had my 6-monthly visit to the dentist this week, which was interesting. He likes to be aware of any drug regimes that his patients are on, so I updated him with my situation. It transpires that he was planning to take a new set of X-rays to better monitor some of my older fillings and plan when to replace them, but decided to delay that. So I’m saved another dose of radiation, at least until my next appointment at the end of the year. However, to counter that he was extremely keen that I plan an extra visit to the hygienist in 3 months time, because apparently if anything does goes wrong with my teeth during the chemotherapy cycles, treatment options are quite limited.

Flossing has suddenly acquired a whole new importance, because it really is a case of prevention being much better than a cure for a while 🙂

2 thoughts on “1 down, 7 to go …

  1. Richard, just caught up with your blog after a long time. Gosh, you’ve been through a lot since I last saw you (that day we had the SAP training). Glad to hear that your treatment is progressing and as usual I’ve learned a lot both about medical stuff and some interesting tech. Best wishes, and looking forward to catching up with you in person when you get back to work.

    Robert

    • Thanks Robert. In some ways it feels like only yesterday that I was preparing to start this journey, but in others it feels like a lifetime away. Right now I’m just looking forward to getting to a point in my treatment where I can start to get back to working and living a normal life again – and I’ll be sure to come & look you up as soon as that happens!

Leave a Reply

