Pressure? What pressure?

Before my latest set of health issues, I was diagnosed with hypertension, or high blood pressure. Click on the Tag List to the right to see earlier posts relating to that. The bottom line was that it was due to my lack of exercise, excess body weight, and rather stressful work life.

My efforts to increase my exercise and reduce my weight met with limited success. The stressful work life was (and probably always will be) largely out of my control, especially given the ever-increasing pace of business. And so I was put on a regime of drugs known as ACE inhibitors, which relax the blood vessels, allowing my blood pressure to fall, reducing the risk of heart attacks, strokes and kidney problems.

However, since I went into hospital for my cancer surgery, I’ve lost some 15Kgs. I’m certainly not doing any more exercise (less if I’m brutally honest) and my stress levels are definitely no lower. And yet my blood pressure (as measured the last couple of times I’ve been into hospital) is pretty stable at 115/75, despite the fact that on each occasion I’ve been about to go through another round of chemotherapy, and hence been fairly stressed. Given the situation, that looks pretty low to me.

So, the question is, if I can increase my exercise levels and maintain or even further reduce my weight, can I get to the point where I can either reduce or remove the need for drugs to keep my blood pressure down? For me, that would be a real win; I’d probably still need to regularly monitor my blood pressure and take prophylactic Aspirin, but removing the perindopril erbumine and it’s associated side effects is rather attractive.

Probably worth discussing with my oncologist at our next meeting, and then my GP at my next regular check-up, which I was amusingly told to arrange for sometime around the Wimbledon fortnight – ie pretty much now!

Leave a Reply

