Lo.ts o. hicc.up.s ag.in, las.ing all n.ght l.st n.ght!

Not a good night. Hiccoughs started around midnight, and didn’t really stop until nearly 5am, when I finally got to sleep. Of course, this doesn’t just affect me; if I end up hiccoughing all through the night, that means my wife doesn’t get any sleep either, and she still needs to go to work the next day. So I ended up in the lounge reading, and trying to drift off to sleep on the sofa. Thank goodness for recliners!

Still, it’s no fun spending the night awake, and then eventually falling asleep on the couch because of a 5 hour attack of hiccoughs, so lets hope this isn’t going to be a regular feature of this cycle. Though having said all that, I read nearly the first half of Lance Armstrong’s first autobiography last night, which is quite inspirational. “It’s not about the bike” talks about his early years, and his diagnosis and treatment for testicular cancer. So far, it’s a good inspirational read, by an inspirational character who talks openly about his predicament and how he overcame it. Recommended.

I also talked to a colleague this morning who has been through approximately the same treatment as me, 3 years ago. Harry was very helpful, and shared a lot of information about some of the things that have been starting to worry me about the treatment I still have to do, and in particular the reversal of my ileostomy.

Clearly we’re all individuals, and it’s not possible to say that my treatment will closely mirror his experiences, but understanding the amount of post-operative care that I’m going to need was very helpful; both very positive for the long term, but slightly worrying for the medium term. I had initially assumed the reversal to be a very simple operation – and indeed, it is for the surgeon. For the patient however, it involves a lot more post-operative care, particularly around the dressing of the wound than I had imagined. Unless that’s something that can be managed by my wife and I, then I can see that it’s going to involve more time off work that I’d not been planning for. Which is going to be very frustrating indeed.

The longer term sounds more positive, with bowel function likely to return to near normal in a relatively manageable period (months to a year or so) which sounds like something that I can probably cope with with some careful planning.

So Harry, when you read this, thanks for the call today – I really appreciated talking to you. Coffees are on me when I get back into the office and we can meet up, and I’m sure I’ll be calling you to talk more once the information you’ve given me has finished sinking in!

Leave a Reply

