Not a great day

I ended up getting up several times in the night last night to empty my ileostomy bag. I suspect it was something that I ate that pushed my output up, but the end result was that I needed to get up every couple of hours. Which would have been OK except the bag then failed just before 6am this morning. Which is really not the best way to start the day.

And then the new bag that I replaced that one with failed in the middle of the afternoon.

Needless to say, I’m tired of this game and more than a little fed up. When you can’t depend on these things the last thing you want to do is go out or do anything that might provoke an early failure, which means that I’m tending to confine myself to the house, which doesn’t make for my being a very good husband or father at the moment.

I’m hoping that this latest bag will survive a bit longer than the previous ones. In theory they’re “guaranteed” to last 3 days, and with proper use, a fair bit longer. In practice I change them every other day anyway, but I’m still trending towards a failure or two each week, which is just miserable. Either this batch of bags are faulty, the change in shape of my abdomen or the way I’m using the bags is causing problems and I’d like to know which so I can resolve it. However, getting hold of the Stoma nurses has proved awkward, with me only being able to leave messages on their answer-phone. And so far they’ve not returned my calls.

Perhaps the answer is a surprise personal visit to see them.

Leave a Reply

