Protracted start to cycle 5

I suppose that today is really the start of my fifth cycle, although I don’t actually get the medicine until tomorrow. My daughter has her “school leavers service” at our local church tomorrow morning (she moves from Junior to Secondary school this September) and is very keen that I attend if at all possible. Normally this would clash with my intravenous infusion, but by getting my blood tests taken & processed today, I can go to her service tomorrow morning and then turn up “late” to the hospital and still fit the infusion in.

The downside is that I need to get my bloods drawn this morning, then go back for my appointment with my oncologist this evening, and then back again tomorrow for the IV – so a lot more to’ing and fro’ing. However, the upside is that my oncologist will have seen all my most recent blood test results (they process them on-site in their own haematology lab) so we’ll be able to have a more up-to-date discussion on how well I’m getting on with the chemotherapy.

And it will be great to attend A’s leavers service; they’re normally very emotional affairs, and if she wants me there that’s the least that I can do for her.

2 thoughts on “Protracted start to cycle 5

  1. Hey Richard, just got your out-of-office notice. Had no idea you were sick! I’m wishing you all the best and thinking of you. Hope to see you wandering the halls of Hursley as soon as possible.

    Best wishes, Graham.

    • Thanks Graham – I’m looking forward to that too! I’m getting into the office from time to time to catch up with everyone, but it seems I won’t be properly allowed back by the Occupational Health people before the end of the year, which is a bit frustrating.

Leave a Reply

