Contact lenses – the final decision

The various trials with contact lenses, trying to find the best solution for my aging eyes have all now finally come to a close. In the end I decided that the two mono-vision contact lenses gave me the best compromise for my typical daily use. So, my left eye has a “reading optimised” lens, and my right eye has a normal “distance optimised” lens. My brain then works out which eye to use for any given focal point.

Very close work is still quite severely constrained – so fiddling with tiny grub screws and gears from the insides of a clock (for example) is still a nightmare. But then I don’t tend to do that very often, and as the optician pointed out, there is nothing to stop me from using a set of cheap +1 reading glasses in addition to the contact lenses, which will bring close work into very sharp focus indeed.

So, with that decision made, it then becomes a matter of just buying the lenses & solutions. These lenses are monthly disposables, and the optician runs a scheme to pay monthly for them. The cost works out to be £11 a month to join their discount after-care scheme (which runs for a minimum period of a year), plus £12 a month for my lenses, plus £3 a month for solutions. Grand total over a year, £312.

Which was a heck of a lot more money than I was expecting. So I went off and price-checked on the internet.

Vision Direct offer a 6 month supply of exactly the same lenses for £59. A 6 month supply of their solutions are £16. So a years supply of lenses and solutions would be £150. To keep the comparison fair I would then need to allow another £50 for my next professional contact lens after-care appointment, making £200 in total.

The £112 extra for buying from the optician appears to get me a discounted price on further pairs of glasses, sunglasses, and any additional after-care appointments that I might need for free. Alternatively you could view it (as I do) as a healthy profit margin, as it’s offering facilities that the majority of customers are probably never going to use.

2 thoughts on “Contact lenses – the final decision

    • No, if the prescriptions are correct it doesn’t cause problems for your eyes. It seems to take a while for your brain to get used to it, but once it does it’s OK. However, I found that neither my close in or distance vision was as good with this set up as with normal correction, and in the end it annoyed me too much to live with it. My optician told me that many people are fine with it, but it’s clearly not for everyone.

Leave a Reply

