Ileostomy problem, continued again

Six days now, and still no change. My stoma is still very swollen, though the bleeding has now stopped. It seems as though the stoma is less swollen first thing in the morning when I wake, and then gets steadily worse through the course of the day, getting very uncomfortable towards the time I go to bed. I’ve convinced myself that this is related to the herniated state of my stoma, which probably means that it’s not going to get much better without the hernia being fixed.

Since that’s not going to happen until the reversal operation, I guess I’m just going to have to live with it for now. In the short term this means I’m going to have to make up my bags with much larger holes in the flange, and accept that the bag will only fit properly for a portion of the day. This is going to cause some problems with blistering of the exposed skin that the flange doesn’t cover properly, though I may be able to mitigate some of that with barrier cream. Time will tell how much of a problem this will turn out to be, but at least I have the end in sight, with my expected reversal operation (which will also fix my hernia) in the next 6 weeks or so.

It’s frustrating that as fast as I seem to overcome one problem, another manages to raise its head. Still, as the old saying goes, if you have to eat an elephant, you do it one bite at a time…

Leave a Reply

