Reversal recovery (part ii)

This morning has been a whirlwind of visits to the GP. I first went there at 9am to renew my medical certificate, update them on my current condition, update all my prescriptions, and arrange appointments to have my wound dressed. I also got the prescriptions for painkillers filled straight away, as I only have 3 or 4 days supply from the hospital pharmacy, and I really don’t want to run out of them, which involved sitting around in the pharmacists for a lot longer than I expected.

I then went back home, and did all the paperwork that has built up in my (only 5 days) absence.

Then back to the GP surgery for my appointment with the practice nurse, to dress my wound. Except it turns out that I’ve already managed to get an infection in it. SIGH. So she called in the GP, who examined it and prescribed a weeks course of a broad spectrum antibiotic. So after having it cleaned out and dressed, and making a weeks worth of follow-on appointments, and engaging the district nurses (who will provide the redressing service over the weekends) I got to revisit the pharmacy to get yet more tablets. And had another long wait.

Then, when I finally got home, I discovered that I’d missed a call from my surgeon who was trying to check on my progress. Hopefully he will call back this evening, because I really wanted to ask some questions about my dose of loperamide.

I’m currently feeling faintly fed-up.

Update: I’ve just had one of the community nurses call me to discuss the message that my GP surgery left them. The conversation (from their perspective) appeared to be a litany of reasons why they either couldn’t help me, or what the limitations were of the help that they could offer, for each of the things my GP had requested. So sod them. If the service they offer is really that poor then I think I’d feel a lot happier finding an alternative. At least I only need to change a dressing; how hard can it be? I bet my GP practice nurses can teach me enough over the rest of this week to allow me to do it myself over the weekends. And if all else fails I’ve some medical friends and the Spire hospital as backups.

Right now I’m feeling seriously annoyed by their attitude. Still, perhaps I should have expected it, as I now remember having a similar experience the last time I dealt with them.

Leave a Reply

