Reversal recovery (part xiv)

It’s been 10 days since I stopped taking any pain-killers, and 7 days since the end of my course of antibiotics. The good news is that things seem to be continuing on a fairly even keel, without the return of the really bad aching from deep in my pelvis that I was experiencing before I was prescribed the antibiotics.

I expect that the abscess that had formed is still there (though hopefully getting smaller as it heals) so it’s perhaps unsurprising that I am still experiencing some pain. However, it’s nothing like what I was going through before, and it’s certainly not bad enough to require that I restart my Cocodomol tablets. The pains I do experience range from a mix of short, sharp “stabbing” pains, through to periods of low-level aching which seem to just come and go.

Interestingly, I’m now finding it much harder to balance my Loperamide intake, and I seem to be bouncing between not enough (and needing to be within running distance of toilets) and too much, which results in quite painful constipation. I wonder if this may be related to some of the remaining aching pains that I experience? In either case, it’s really frustrating, but possibly to be expected – if I need less Loperamide overall, it’s going to get harder to appropriately dose myself with the relatively large (2mg) capsules.

At the moment I’m taking capsules 4 times per day (8am, 1pm, 6pm and midnight), with 2 capsules in that last, night-time slot. If I remove the double dose then after two such cycles, I run into problems. I could try to alternate taking and not taking that double dose, but I’m considering instead only taking the capsules three times per day (8am, 3pm and 10pm) with a double dose as now in the last night-time slot, and seeing if that works better.

I’m now starting to appreciate why most of my experiences of being prescribed medicines have seemed like trial and error – it basically is!

Finally, my surgeon tells me that he has ordered another gastrografin enema test, but so far I’ve heard nothing back from the hospital by way of a booking; given that things seem to be going well, and it’s not the nicest of tests to go through, I’m not chasing them up about it. But I expect I’ll have that to do in the next week or so, which will hopefully give the surgeon a much better idea of what state I’m currently in.

Leave a Reply

