Recovery from chemotherapy (week 30)

Still no real change to report. The peripheral neuropathy is still the main problem, and mostly only in my feet and toes. I did notice a small amount in my fingers for a week or so, but that faded away as quickly and easily as it had emerged. At this stage I’m not convinced that my feet will actually get any better; my suspicion is that the nerve endings are damaged too badly, and that it’s just something that I’m going to have to put up with.

However, I was talking to an old friend who is a pharmacist, and she recommended that I take some supplements to see if they will help; her recommendation was vitamin B and folic acid. Apparently between them they help with nerve growth. I don’t know how likely it is to help me in practice, but for the price of some multivitamins and folic acid I may as well try it. I’ll report back if I have any success!

Other than that, I continue to feel the cold very badly. At this time of the year it wouldn’t be a problem in normal circumstances, but I went out on one of the sailing club safety RIB’s, and didn’t wear enough layers. Within about 30 minutes all I could feel was the cold. It turned what should have been quite a fun event into a rather miserable one, so in future I’ll ensure I wrap up more warmly!

Leave a Reply

