Recovery progress

I realised, to my chagrin, that it’s been nearly a month (a month!) since I last posted an update here. I’d like to say that I don’t know where the time has gone, but I do. It’s working for a living again. Take the normal weekly workload, add another 15 hours of travel to and from London to that, include a normal family life, and there’s nothing much to spare.

Work itself is going pretty well, and despite the travel, I’m really enjoying it. I am having to manage my diary quite carefully though; it’s all too easy to schedule too many trips to London in a week, or to try to pack too much into a single day, which results in problems for me later. Improvements in my stamina seem to have plateaued for now, and I’m still nowhere near as “resilient” as I used to be. On one level that’s really frustrating, but on another it’s forcing me to adopt a much more healthy work-life balance, which is something that is actually quite important to me now.

Health-wise, things continue much as before. I continue to have “good” days and “bad” days, and the ratio varies from week to week, almost at random. I’ve decided that the key thing for me is to try to make the best of each day, no matter what it’s like, as I really can’t tell in advance what sort of day I’m going to have and plan for it; I need to adapt to the circumstances I’m presented with. Even so, there are some days when that is difficult, and on those occasions I sometimes have to remind myself that at least I’m still here, and living a basically normal life. There are a lot of people who are not.

Leave a Reply

