So far so good (part ii)

Now free of all the IV lines in my arms, and allowed to eat and drink normally, as long as I stick to “light” portions.
Currently have a catheter and a drain to deal with, but hoping to lose both of those by tomorrow.
There is a chance I could be discharged tomorrow too, but as the surgeon needs to run a series of tests on me on Tuesday, I think it’s more likely that they’ll keep me in a bit longer yet, possibly letting me out on Tuesday or Wednesday evening depending on the results of the tests.
Either way, things are going well, and miles better than the last time I had to have an ileostomy!

2 thoughts on “So far so good (part ii)

  1. Hi Richard,

    I found your blog early last year and once I’d caught up on your earlier postings I’ve found myself looking out for your updates. I’m another bowel cancer survivor, had my illeostomy reversed in Feb 2010 and disocvered a small secondary tumour in my lung last october. Just had my 5th cycle of chemo and wondering if it will ever end!

    I don’t really know why i’m moved to respond to you just now but felt it was time to acknowledge what,to me, feels a bit like stalking and to let you know how much I’ve appreciated your openness and honesty through some very tough times. Your ability to express yourself so eloquently and with a touch of wry humour has made interesting reading – and just writing that sounds and feels a bit bizarre to me! I know I couldn’t have made my journey so public. So, thank you…reading about our similarities and differences has helped me feel less alone and odd. From my own wee corner of Scotland I send good wishes for your continued recovery and hope that this most recent surgery is the success you deserve to have. I still have days when i think life would be more comfortable with a permanent colostomy….but I’m with you on wanting that to be a very last resort.

    Wishing you good luck and good health, I’ll be watching for your updates 🙂
    Grace x

    • Thanks for the really kind words; it’s great to hear that someone is finding what I’ve been writing interesting and useful.

      I’m sorry to hear about your secondary tumour. It must be very difficult to come to terms with. I’m not sure how I would have coped with that and having to go back on more chemotherapy. I found my original chemotherapy very difficult to deal with at the time, and as you say, it seemed to go on and on forever. In the end I kept a chart where I ticked off the IV infusions and the days of tablets, helping me to see that the end really was in sight.

      Wishing you the very best for a speedy and complete recovery – Richard x

Leave a Reply

