So far so good (part vi)

First week back at work, and all seems to be going well. I found I was surprisingly tired by Thursday, which was my third day in London this week. So much so that I was very glad to be able to work from home on Friday, and then have the weekend to recover. As with the other operations I’ve had, it looks as though my stamina has taken a bit of a hit. If past experience is anything to go by then I’ll probably be back to normal in about a month or so. In the meantime I’ll just need to pace myself sensibly.

Meanwhile it seems that this ileostomy is much better than my first one – it’s working much more like the doctors and nurses explained it ought to, rather than the nightmare I had with the last one. In particular it produces far less output, which means no problems with the bags. It also means I don’t need codine to slow the ileostomy down, which means no issues about going back to work.

I next see the surgeon on Thursday, when we’ll see if the abscesses are still draining properly. Hopefully they are, and things will continue as we planned.

Leave a Reply

