Eat well, drink in moderation, and sleep sound, in these three good health abound

The last couple of weeks seem to have been manically busy, and as a result I’ve been commuting full-time to London, rather than my more usual 3 or 4 days a week. I’ve found that really difficult, and as the days passed I was struggling to keep going.

The main issue is just plain tiredness. My ileostomy has both herniated, and become very enlarged since it was installed. The result is a large bulge on my abdomen which makes sleeping difficult; I rarely get more than a few hours sleep a night.

So, discovering that I had meetings all-day on Thursday, all-day on Friday, and was entertaining customers on Thursday night too, didn’t fill me with my usual enthusiasm. I honestly didn’t think I’d make it through Friday. So to ease the load I booked an hotel in London on Thursday night.

And had the best nights sleep I can remember.

The reason, as far as I can tell, is that Marriott have invested in some spectacularly nice pillows. Their beds and duvets are pretty good too. But their pillows are something special. Wonderfully soft, but firm and supportive too. Mine are woefully poor in comparison.

Turns out that they even sell them. But in Europe they only sell smaller versions (I think to suit European queen-sized beds) of the pillow I made use of, even though at £54 + p&p, it’s a pretty full-on price. Unfortunately I have a king-size bed, so I really need one a little larger.

The interesting thing I took from this is the description of the pillow, which has two chambers, one central one, giving firm support, surrounded by a soft, fluffy outer layer giving comfort.

But this is the internet. Time to go hunting for someone who sells something similar, but in a size better suited to my bed. And here it is. Unfortunately it comes with what seems to me to be a terrifying £71.25 price tag. But then, if you believe the 10 year guarantee, that’s £7.13 a year, or a mere 2p per night.

So, what price a sound nights sleep?

2 thoughts on “Eat well, drink in moderation, and sleep sound, in these three good health abound

    • My pillow arrived yesterday, and it’s everything they say it is, and more. The only slight issue is that it’s so “fluffy” that it barely fits into my existing pillowcases, so I’ll probably need to invest in some new ones.
      Other than that, I’d say it’s worth every (two!) penny.

Leave a Reply

