Sponge change #5

Tomorrow is the next change of Endosponges. All I know at the moment is that I am allowed breakfast, and that the surgeon will be dropping by “first thing”. Which normally means so early that he’ll be waking me up to talk to me.

Since I’m allowed breakfast, which normally arrives between 7am and 8am, I can pretty much guarantee that I won’t be in theatre before 2pm. It does mean nothing to eat after about 8am, and (probably) nothing to drink after about noon. The food is easy, but I hate not even being able to have a drink of water.

I suspect that after we failed to avoid the anaesthetic last time, my surgeon is going to be even more keen to try the sedation route this time. I will have to metaphorically gird my loins for that one, since I definitely won’t be allowed to do so literally.

Still, on the upside, it seems that so far the treatment has been more successful than either I or the surgeon were expecting. If it continues like this, then at some point we’ll have to swap from being moderately pessimistic, to moderately optimistic. I’m not entirely sure how I’m going to manage that without a degree of elation creeping in. And I suspect my surgeon probably deserves a smidgen of quiet satisfaction too.

We’ll know if things are continuing to improve when he gets to take a closer look at me tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

