Two steps forward … and one step back

I’ve been a bit quiet for the last few days, (a) because I’ve been a bit busy sorting out doctors, practice nurses, doctors appointments, repeat prescriptions etc, and (b) partly because I’ve not been feeling very well.

In the end, I was discharged from hospital on Thursday afternoon of last week, the 22nd. And promptly had to go back into the ward that same evening because of problems with my catheter blocking up with some small blood clots. The nursing staff on the ward flushed out me and the catheter, and sent me home again, and told me to make sure I drank more fluids, which I took great care to do.

And all was well with the world.

Except I was very hot and uncomfortable at night. And then over the weekend I started to experience some pain in the abdomen. And that got worse, until I finally gave in and added some Tramadol to my pain relief list. And the long weekend passed by like that, with me feeling ill, and very hot and sweaty, with a 2C fever. It wasn’t fun, but I felt like I was coping.

Until on Tuesday, when some stitches gave way, and let a lot of unpleasant infection out. So, after a day of running around dealing with doctors, nurses and the hospital, I’m now back on antibiotics, and will be re-admitted to hospital tomorrow afternoon for a procedure under (general) anaesthetic to flush out the infection, and probably install a new surgical drain. In all likelihood this will mean that I’ll get to spend a few more days in hospital, which was definitely not the plan at this stage of the game.

All very frustrating.

2 thoughts on “Two steps forward … and one step back

Leave a Reply

